EE Controls LSN7-400-A : Discontinued 4-Pole Lighting Contactor, Normally Open, 120 VAC Coil - Replaced by WEG CWM18-00-40V18
This part is discontinued. EE Controls supplies the WEG CWM18-00-40V18 in its place.
EE Controls LSN7-400-A → WEG CWM18-00-40V18You are still specifying the same thing: a 4-pole lighting contactor, a coil voltage, and normally open or normally closed. The CWM18-00-40V18 is the part EE Controls gives as the cross-reference for the LSN7-400-A. The WEG datasheet for the CWM18-00-40V18 is linked in the documents section below. Read the ratings comparison below before you order, and check the coil line in particular.
View WEG CWM18-00-40V18The EE Controls LSN7-400-A is a 4-pole, normally open, electrically held lighting contactor with a 120 VAC 50/60 Hz control coil, rated 30 A for ballast and LED loads to 600 VAC under AC-5a and AC-5b, and 32 A breaking all lines at 600 VAC. In the LSN7-400-A, all four poles are open with the coil de-energized, so the lighting circuits go off when control power is lost. EE Controls has discontinued this catalog number and cross-references it to the WEG CWM18-00-40V18.
The LSN7 to CWM18 crossover part numbers on this page were supplied by EE Controls. They are not printed in either manufacturer datasheet, so treat them as a vendor-supplied cross-reference rather than a published equivalency. Confirm fit and ratings against your own submittal before you order.
What the swap changes
Poles and switching
Four main poles either way, switching up to four lighting circuits from one control point. WEG's datasheet for the CWM18-00-40V18 states 4 NO main contacts and no auxiliary contacts.
Coil voltage
The coils are not documented identically. EE Controls lists coil code A as 120 VAC at 50/60 Hz. WEG's datasheet for the CWM18-00-40V18 lists 110 V at 50 Hz and 120 V at 60 Hz. On a 120 V, 60 Hz control circuit the two published coil ratings align at 120 V. On 50 Hz they are not the same, so confirm before you use this on an export panel.
Fail state
Both parts are normally open, so on a loss of control power the lights go off. For the CWM18-00-40V18 this comes from the EE Controls cross-reference and is consistent with the 4 NO main contacts in WEG's datasheet.
Panel footprint
The LSN7 drawing and the WEG CWM18-00-40V18 datasheet both give an 81 x 45 x 87 mm body. Mounting is where they part company on paper: EE Controls publishes 35 mm DIN rail or panel surface, WEG's datasheet lists installation as not available. Check your rail and backplate.
Terminations
Tightening torque matches in both documents at 15 lb.in on the power terminals and 10 lb.in on the control terminals. Conductor range does not compare directly: EE Controls publishes 14-10 AWG and 16-12 AWG, WEG publishes its conductor sections in mm2 only.
Brand and label
The contactor ships marked WEG rather than EE Controls, so any submittal, panel schedule or drawing that calls out the LSN7 by catalog number needs updating.
LSN7 series and WEG CWM18 frame - published ratings side by side
Left column is read from the EE Controls LSN7 nameplate and LSN Series catalog. Right column is read from the WEG Contactors datasheet for product code 13323656 (CWM18-00-40V18). Eleven lines agree. Five do not, and they are marked in amber.
| Published rating | EE Controls LSN7 | WEG CWM18 |
|---|---|---|
| Coil, EEC code A / WEG code V18 | 120 VAC 50/60 Hz | 110 V 50 Hz / 120 V 60 Hz |
| Rated current Ie, AC-3 | 18 A at 240 / 400 / 440 V | 18 A at Ue 440 V or less |
| Rated current Ie, AC-3 at 500 V | 14 A | Not published by WEG |
| Rated current Ie, AC-3 at 690 V | 13 A | 13 A at Ue 690 V or less |
| General purpose current | 32 A, break all lines, 600 VAC | 32 A, AC-1, Ue 690 V or less at 55 C or less |
| AC-1 power at 240 / 400 / 440 / 500 V | 12 / 22 / 23 / 27.5 kW | 12 / 22 / 23 / 27.5 kW |
| AC-3 power at 240 / 400 / 440 / 500 / 690 V | 4.5 / 7.5 / 9.2 / 9.2 / 11 kW | 4.5 / 7.5 / 9.2 / 9.2 / 11 kW |
| AC-3 motor rating, IEC (HP) | 6 / 10 / 12.5 / 12.5 / 15 HP | 6 / 10 / 12.5 / 12.5 / 15 HP |
| UL HP, 1-phase at 120 / 240 V | 1 / 3 HP | 1 / 3 HP |
| UL HP, 3-phase at 200 / 240 / 480 / 600 V | 5 / 5 / 10 / 15 HP | 5 / 5 / 10 / 15 HP |
| Short-circuit current rating at 600 V | 5 kA | 5 kA |
| Tightening torque, power / control terminals | 15 lb.in / 10 lb.in | 15 lb.in / 10 lb.in |
| Conductor range, power / control terminals | 14-10 AWG / 16-12 AWG | Published in mm2 only: 0.5-6 mm2 / 0.5-4 mm2 |
| Body size, height x width x depth | 81 x 45 x 87 mm | 81 x 45 x 87 mm |
| Mounting | 35 mm DIN rail or panel surface | Not published by WEG (datasheet lists installation as not available) |
| AC-5a / AC-5b lighting rating | 30 A at 347/600 VAC, 3 phase | Not published by WEG |
Read the five amber lines before you order. The coil is the one that matters most on a control circuit: EE Controls documents 120 V at both 50 and 60 Hz, WEG documents 110 V at 50 Hz and 120 V at 60 Hz, so the two agree on 60 Hz service and not on 50 Hz. The AC-5a and AC-5b lighting rating is printed on the EE Controls nameplate and is not published by WEG at all, so if your specification cites an AC-5 figure, contact us before you order and we will get it confirmed in writing. Mounting and AWG conductor ranges are published by EE Controls and not by WEG, which does not mean they differ, only that WEG's datasheet does not state them.
Technical specifications - EE Controls LSN7-400-A
| Specification | Value | |
|---|---|---|
| Part number | LSN7-400-A | |
| Contact configuration | 4-pole normally open (NO), electrically held | |
| Coil voltage | 120 VAC 50/60 Hz (coil code A) | |
| Series | EE Controls LSN7 | |
| Number of poles | 4 | |
| Amperage rating, ballast / LED at 600 VAC maximum | 30 A | |
| Utilization categories | AC-5a (discharge lamps), AC-5b (incandescent lamps) | |
| General purpose current, break all lines at 600 VAC | 32 A | |
| Rated current Ie, AC-3 | 18 A at 240 / 400 / 440 V, 13 A at 690 V | |
| Short-circuit current rating at 600 V | 5 kA | |
| Power terminals | 14-10 AWG, 15 lb.in | |
| Control terminals | 16-12 AWG, 10 lb.in | |
| Body size, height x width x depth | 81 x 45 x 87 mm | |
| Mounting | 35 mm DIN rail or panel surface | |
| Standards | UL 508, CSA 22.2 #14, IEC 60947, CE | |
| Lifecycle status | Discontinued. Replaced by WEG CWM18-00-40V18. | |
Technical specifications - WEG CWM18-00-40V18
Read from the WEG Contactors datasheet, product code 13323656.
| Specification | Value | |
|---|---|---|
| Part number | CWM18-00-40V18 | |
| Main contacts (power) | 4 NO | |
| Auxiliary contacts | None | |
| Control voltage | 110 V 50 Hz / 120 V 60 Hz | |
| Rated utilization voltage Ue, IEC / UL | 690 V / 600 V | |
| Rated current Ie, AC-3 at Ue 440 V or less | 18 A | |
| Rated current Ie, AC-3 at Ue 690 V or less | 13 A | |
| Rated current Ie, AC-1, Ue 690 V or less at 55 C or less | 32 A | |
| Rated impulse withstand voltage Uimp | 6 kV | |
| Mechanical lifespan | 10 million operations | |
| Electrical lifespan, AC-3 | 1.2 million operations | |
| Degree of protection, main / control circuit | IP10 / IP20 | |
| Terminal type | Screw, M3.5 flat / Phillips | |
| Tightening torque, power / control | 15 lb.in / 10 lb.in | |
| Installation | Not stated in the WEG datasheet | |
| Ambient temperature, operation | -25 C to +55 C | |
| Dimensions, height x width x depth | 81 x 45 x 87 mm (3.19 x 1.77 x 3.43 in) | |
| Weight | 300 g | |
| Standards | IEC 60947-1, UL 508 | |
| Certifications | CE, UL, EAC | |
Datasheets and technical documents
Frequently asked questions
What replaces the EE Controls LSN7-400-A?
Will the WEG CWM18-00-40V18 fit where the LSN7-400-A was?
Does the WEG CWM18-00-40V18 use the same coil voltage as the LSN7-400-A?
How similar are the EE Controls LSN7 and the WEG CWM18?
What is the amperage rating I should be specifying?
Why is the LSN7-400-A normally open?
Are the other LSN7 coil voltages still available?
Can I still buy the LSN7-400-A?
What if I need the normally closed version instead?
Sources: EE Controls LSN Series Lighting Contactor catalog (nameplate and selection tables); WEG Contactors datasheet, product code 13323656 (CWM18-00-40V18), issue dated 14/09/2026. Crossover part numbers supplied by EE Controls. Reviewed 14 September 2026.
- # of Poles:
- 4
- Coil Voltage:
- 120VAC
- Current Rating:
- 30A
- Configuration:
- Normally Open
1 Review Hide Reviews Show Reviews
-
Lighting Contactors
Best price I could find, not a long wait to receive.